Home Aims Laws of Chess Training Tournaments Hall of Fame Donations Links NECL



As part of Chess Scotland's wish to make major junior events available to all the geographical regions of Scotland the North-East has been selected to host the prestigious Scottish Girls Championship for a fourth successive year

Following on the success of the previous three years we have been fortunate to again obtain Brotherton Castle (home of Lathallan School) as the host venue (see pictures above). This is situated on the coast at Johnshaven, between Montrose and Stonehaven. This would be a 40 min drive from Dundee and about 2.5 h from either Glasgow or Edinburgh. As can be seen at the website (www.lathallan.org.uk) the venue is situated in 62 acres of private grounds and makes a really special setting for any event, but particularly chess.

                If two players have the same score then separation of places will be in the following order:

                1. Result of a game between them in the tournament proper.

                2. If the players did not meet or the individual game was drawn then a reduced-time play-off will take place (ungraded). If the players had drawn their individual encounter then colours will be reversed. If they had not met then colours will be assigned to best equalise the number of Blacks and Whites. Failing that, colour will be decided on the toss of a coin. 

                3. If the first play-off is drawn then a further-reduced time game will take place with colours reversed. This format will continue until a winner is decided.

                 If three (or more) players tie then order will be decided as follows

                1. Individual results between themselves in the event proper (effectively a mini-league).

                2. If this fails to resolve the winner(s) then a reduced-time play-off will take place (ungraded) with colours reversed from their individual encounter in the event proper. Else colours will be decided to best equalise the number of Blacks and Whites. Failing that, colour will be decided on the toss of a coin.

                3. If the first play-off fails to resolve the order of the winner(s)  then a further-reduced time game(s) will take place with colours reversed. This format will continue until a winner(s) is decided.


By car

Directions from the South

Follow A90 to B9120 near Laurencekirk in Aberdeenshire.

Turn right onto B912  

Turn left onto A92 

Continue to follow A92

Turn right at Lathallan School Sign. Follow drive to Castle.                                                   


Directions from North  

Head south on A90

Once South of Stonehaven exit onto A92 toward Montrose/Arbroath

Turn left at Lathallan School Sign. Follow drive to Castle.

By Train

The nearest station from the south is Montrose. With prior notification transport to and from the station (Lathallan minibus) to the venue can be arranged.

From the North, Stonehaven is the nearest station. Transport to the station may be possible by prior arrangement (private transport). Alternatively travel to Montrose and make prior arrangement for collection.

Brief details of last year's events

The event was held on Saturday 12th March 2016. Joy Durno WFM again offered coaching to entrants between rounds and discussed how to progress to international selection. She was supported by Sean Milton and John Shovlin. David Congalton (Chess Scotland Junior Director) and Joy handed out he various prizes and awards. The event also provided the opportunity for presentation  of the female Scottish Young Player of the Year award to Rachel Lorna Smith with her attributes praised by David Congalton and with Joy presenting the Cherie Booth award.

The winners in the various sections are given below. So heartiest congratulations to the new Scottish Champions Jessica, Carolina and Monica.

P5 and Under



 1st  Jessica Freeman (Albyn School & North Juniors) 8/8

 1st Carolina Espinosa (Sacred Heart Primary) 5/6

 1st Monica Espinosa (Girvan) 6/6

 2nd Emma Heron (Holy Cross Primary) 6/8

 2nd Hanna Walker (Perth) 4/6

 2nd Oishani Dutta (St Margaret's & North Juniors) 5/6

 3rd Chelsea Liang (Fettes College) 6/8

 3rd Uma Ganesan (Westhill Primary) 3/6

 3rd Rachel Lorna Smith (Belmont Academy) 4/6

 4th Sophie Heron (Holy Cross Primary) 5/8

 5th Sophie Gillick (Albyn School & North Juniors) 4.5/8

Thanks to all who participated and for the various helpers.

Thanks once again to Lathallan School for their generous access to their facilities and providing the free coffee, tea and home-bakes.

 The event will beheld on Saturday 11th March 2017. Once again we have lined up some strong coaches for entrants between rounds and discuss how to progress to international selection.

Entry forms can be obtained via the Tournaments page or by clicking the link here [Entry Form]. There are 3 main events, the Open (Secondary), played under Allegro rules (Bronstein), Primary 6 & 7 and P5 and Under. Both Primary events will be played under main list grading.

The  same tie-break rules as last year will be applied:

For the Scottish Girls Championships there will be a single winner in each section. If necessary the following tie-breaks will be used to ensure an outright winner.